As I have written elsewhere on this site, perhaps no other area of Georgia law involves less fighting than workers’ compensation injury claims, with the possible exception of divorce cases. Insurance companies are in the business of making money and any claim that is filed represents a potential...Read More
If you were recently injured at work, then the articles below will help you learn your rights.
If you have been injured on the job, you cannot not sit back and wait for your employer to “do the right thing.” Below are important articles written by Georgia Workers Compensation Lawyers to help you understand your rights, and what you can do to protect yourself.
THE FACTS The Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation serves as the “court system” for all work injury claims. State Board Judges are there to resolve disputes, but they do not issue lump sum awards. Examples of disputes resolved by State Board judges include whether your injury actually...Read More
THE FACTS Georgia employers hate on-the-job injuries because their insurance premiums will go up and they may experience a loss of productivity caused by your absence. Even if you are a long-time employee who has been recognized for superior performance, your employer may turn nasty and uncooperative...Read More
THE FACTS Employers hate workers’ compensation claims. Some employers hope that if they ignore your report of a work injury, you will get discouraged and just go away. Some HR managers truly don’t understand what to do when you report a work injury. If your employer does not take the proper steps...Read More
If you wish to pursue a claim under Georgia’s workers’ compensation law you must provide notice of your injury to your employer. The law says that you must report your injury within 30 days of the date you were hurt. If you do not report your injury within 30 days you may be barred from pursuing...Read More
THE FACTS Georgia law requires that you notify your employer about a work injury within 30 days, but don’t wait that long. You should report your work injury immediately after it happens if possible. You must report your injury to your supervisor, the HR manager or the company owner – not to...Read More