What constitutes proper notice of injury to your employer? In this video, Jodi explains how to properly submit your notice of injury to your employer: Speak directly with an experienced Attorney to discuss your situation. No Fee or Obligation – 100% Confidential. Please call now! 770-351-0801. Jodi...Read More
If you have been injured on the job, you cannot and should not sit back and wait for your employer to “do the right thing.” Once your employer and their insurance company determine that you have or may have a workers’ compensation claim, you will be treated as a “claim number” rather than as a person. This may be difficult and unpleasant to accept, but it is the truth. Next to divorce and child support cases, workers’ compensation claims are the most hotly contested and adversarial areas of Georgia law.
Below you will find links to brief articles I have written and videos I have recorded for recently injured workers about:
- what constitutes proper notice
- how to notify the State Board about your claim
- retaliation or hostility from your employer
If you have any questions about how to proceed or if you just need general advice about Georgia workers’ compensation law, please do not hesitate to call me at 770-351-0801 or email me by clicking on this link.
If you are injured while “on the clock,” then you are most likely eligible for workers’ compensation benefits under Georgia law. Any injury that occurs while you are performing tasks that arise “out of and in the course of employment” is covered. The most straightforward cases are those in...Read More
While the workers’ compensation law speaks about on-the-job injuries and requires claimants to provide a “date of accident” you may have an injury that did not happen at a specific time but is the result of wear and tear over a long period of time. Carpal tunnel injuries arising from...Read More
THE FACTS Can I be Fired if I File a Workers’ Compensation Claim in Georgia? Yes, your employer can fire you in retaliation for your decision to pursue a Georgia workers’ compensation claim. Georgia law allows for this. However, the news is not all bad… Your claim for benefits does not go...Read More
THE FACTS Employers hate workers’ comp. claims because it costs them money and impacts productivity. Don’t be surprised if your employer discourages you from pursuing your case or even threatens you. Yes, you can be fired in retaliation for filing a workers’ compensation claim in Georgia. Once...Read More
THE FACTS Georgia employers hate on-the-job injuries because their insurance premiums will go up and they may experience a loss of productivity caused by your absence. Even if you are a long-time employee who has been recognized for superior performance, your employer may turn nasty and uncooperative...Read More
THE FACTS Employers hate workers’ compensation claims. Some employers hope that if they ignore your report of a work injury, you will get discouraged and just go away. Some HR managers truly don’t understand what to do when you report a work injury. If your employer does not take the proper steps...Read More
If you wish to pursue a claim under Georgia’s workers’ compensation law you must provide notice of your injury to your employer. The law says that you must report your injury within 30 days of the date you were hurt. If you do not report your injury within 30 days you may be barred from pursuing...Read More
THE FACTS Georgia law requires that you notify your employer about a work injury within 30 days, but don’t wait that long. You should report your work injury immediately after it happens if possible. You must report your injury to your supervisor, the HR manager or the company owner – not to...Read More