When do Checks Start?

Georgia law provides for the following when it comes to your first payment of weekly wage benefits:

  • if the insurance company is located inside the state of Georgia, your first weekly wage payment must be put into the mail no later than 21 days after the date of your accident (the actual day of the accident does not count)
  • if the insurance company is located outside the state of Georgia, your first weekly wage payment must be put into the mail no later than 18 days after the date of your accident

When are On-going Weekly Wage Checks Due?

  • if the insurance company is located inside the state of Georgia, your on-going weekly wage payments must be postmarked by the end of the week of missed work (i.e. no later than Saturday of the week of missed work)
  • if the insurance company is located outside the state of Georgia, your on-going weekly wage payments must be postmarked on the Thursday of the week of missed work.
  • Know Your Rights! Get Your Georgia Workers Comp Survival Kit Today.
  • Survival Kit
    • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
  • * Your Email Privacy is Respected.