Weekly wage benefits that pay you for missed days at work are an essential part of the Georgia workers’ compensation system. Under the law, when you start missing work following an on-the-job accident, your employer (and their insurance) company must pay you 2/3 of your “average weekly wage” with a maximum payment of $575 per week.
These lost wage payments, by the way, are sometimes called “TTD payments” – TTD stands for “temporary total disability” and represents your financial loss from missing work.
Like just about everything else associated with Georgia workers’ compensation law, there are numerous rules and regulations that govern every aspect of weekly wage benefits including:when the first TTD payment must be paid (about 3 weeks after your accident)
- penalties if your TTD payment is late
- the procedures that must be followed if the insurance company wants to cut you off
- maximum number of weeks you can collect TTD benefits (400 weeks is the maximum unless your case is deemed “catastrophic”)
I know from talking to my clients that weekly wage TTD checks are absolutely necessary for you to have the money to pay your mortgage, car note and household bills. Georgia Power does not care that the workers’ compensation adjustor decided to stop issuing checks for no reason.
I have mentioned elsewhere on this site that I spend a lot of my day talking to my clients and one of the main topics of discussion has to do with TTD checks – why are they late, when will they start and is the amount right? If you have any of these questions, I want you to call me at 770-351-0801 or email me by clicking on the link.
Here are some specifics about TTD benefits that you may find useful.
START HERE – KNOW YOUR RIGHTS
Don’t know where to begin? Get this Survival Kit now.
It will help you avoid common mistakes and guarantee the best chance of winning.